Race Results: West District XC Relays, Kilmacolm

Last weekend, over 60 Garscube Harriers’ athletes lined up to kick off the cross-country season with the West District XC relays at Birkmyre Park in Kilmacolm.

Photo: Junior Boys Silver Medal winning team with coaches (L-R John Bell, Elliot Duff, Finlay Ross-Davie, Cody Stevenson and Alex Chalmers)

The highlight of the day was the junior boys team winning silver, thanks to the team effort of Finlay Ross-Davie 9:07, Elliot Duff 8:53 and Cody Stevenson 8:25 who finished in 26:25. Only 17 seconds off the winning Shettleton Harriers team. The B-team were 13th with Marcus Donnelly 10:17, James Cathro 9:00 and Lorn Webster 8:29. Followed by the C-team in 16th with Adam Insall 10:12, Jack Trainer 8:58 and Berry Thomas 8:59. Other teams were Tom Gibbons 11:11, James Connelly 9:02 and Fraser Gordon 9:44 (33rd) Hugh Borthwick 11:14, Ruaridh Stickland 10:21 and Robbie Burnside 9:54 (48th) Jamie Glen 11:49, Thomas Logan 12:16 and Luke Aitken 9:22 (58th)

The junior girls were 7th with Anya Maclean 9:33, Ellie Hinks 9:56 and Alexandra Jones 10:08. Followed by Isabelle Burnside 10:36 Orla Doherty 10:46 and Kelly Gallacher 11:04 who were 21st and Grace Maclean 10:32, Mia Padmanabhan 10:33 and Sophie Lathan 12:11 in 29th place.

Over the 4km course, the women’s team finished 8th with Nicola Hendry 15:01, Emma Blair 16:55 and Marian Kelly 17:20 with a combined time of 49:16. Followed in 14th position with Chloe McAdam 17:14, Alison Wood 17:37 and Diane Clark 18:19 with 53:10. Then the masters team were 26th (5th in masters category) with Morag Casey 20:16, Joanne Robertson 21:46 and Debbie Martin-Consani 17:41 with 59:43

In the men’s race – where four runners make the team – the Garscube A team of Del Young 12:48, Garry Mathew 13:22, Alan Blair 13:12 and Neal Robertson placed 7th with a combined time of 52:45. The B team were 17th with Alasdair MacMillan 13:17, Ally Maciver 13:37, Steven Currie 14:15 and Craig Sheilds 13:48 in 54:57. The masters team were 26th (7th in masters category) with Marco Consani 13:46. John Bell 13:53, Malcolm Shepherd 14:32 and Rob McLennan 15:42. Other teams were Daniel Burns 14:08, Ian Thomson 14:48, Simon Sheridan 14:53 and Duncan McKellar (32nd) John Murray 15:18, Patrick Gibbons 14:28, Chris Kilshaw 17:21 and Sean McAneny 16:00 (53rd) Jim McAneny 15:32, Alex Chisholm 15:24, Michael Gallacher 15:46 and Craig Brown (55th). Stephen Wilson ran in an incomplete team in 17:20.